Misdemeanor Attorney in Cleveland Ohio
I return calls Promptly
What is a Misdemeanor? The state of Ohio uses degrees to categorized misdemeanors. The worst misdemeanor is a first-degree misdemeanor and the least severe misdemeanor is a minor misdemeanor. In Ohio, misdemeanors include both criminal charges and traffic violations. The most severe misdemeanor may be punished in court by up to six months spent in jail with even more jail time if it is consecutive to another crime.
It is imperative to hire the best criminal lawyer who is honest, reliable and trustworthy to preserve your rights and to minimize punishment. With 25 years of Cleveland criminal law experience, I will advocate and fight for your case. I will stand by you to protect you so that you do not feel alone and intimidated in your legal battle. Please call my office at 216-932-2416 to discuss your misdemeanor case with me.
Minor misdemeanors include small traffic violations, such as failing to come to a complete stop at a stop sign, going through a red light, or speeding on the highway with fines imposed as the only punishment. In a misdemeanor case, jail time may be avoided with the help of a top-notch criminal lawyer. Other penalties, such as community service, counseling and treatment programs, probation or license suspension, may be substituted for jail time.
Punishments for each degree of misdemeanor are limited by Ohio law. For a first degree misdemeanor, punishment is up to 180 days in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. Examples of first-degree misdemeanors in Ohio include driving under the influence (DUI), driving under suspension (DUS), domestic violence, assault, or theft of property valued under $500.
For a second-degree misdemeanor, punishment is up to 90 days in jail and a maximum $750 fine. These charges are different than first-degree misdemeanors because they typically involve crimes against property, such as shoplifting, theft or vandalism. A person with two prior convictions for second-degree misdemeanors may be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor if involved with a similar third offense.
For a fourth-degree misdemeanor, punishment is up to 30 days in jail and a maximum $250 fine. For a minor misdemeanor, there is a maximum $150 fine. Most traffic violations can be considered minor misdemeanors.
Please feel free to contact my Cleveland law office at 216-932-2416 to ask any questions you might have about my criminal law legal services. I am committed to defending you in criminal court and fighting for your rights.
Call today 216-932-2416 for an appointment to discuss your misdemeanor criminal case
When you are faced with a difficult criminal battle, it is imperative to hire the best criminal lawyer who is honest and reliable. With over two decades of criminal law and drug law experience, I will advocate and fight for you. I will make sure to protect your rights and I will stand by you to protect you so that you do not feel alone and intimidated by police and the justice system.
My Law Firm Handles Criminal Misdemeanors Including:
Please feel free to contact me at 216-932-2416 to ask any questions you might have about my legal services. I am committed to defending you and fighting for your rights in the most reliable, honest and trustworthy manner.